[Country map of Coral Sea Islands]

Coral Sea Islands

(territory of Australia)


Location: Oceania, islands in the Coral Sea, northeast of Australia

Map references: Oceania

total area: less than 3 sq km
land area: less than 3 sq km
comparative area: NA
note: includes numerous small islands and reefs scattered over a sea area of about 1 million sq km, with Willis Islets the most important

Land boundaries: 0 km

Coastline: 3,095 km

Maritime claims:
exclusive fishing zone: 200 nm
territorial sea: 3 nm

International disputes: none

Climate: tropical

Terrain: sand and coral reefs and islands (or cays)

Natural resources: negligible

Land use:
arable land: 0%
permanent crops: 0%
meadows and pastures: 0%
forest and woodland: 0%
other: 100% (mostly grass or scrub cover)

Irrigated land: 0 sq km

current issues: no permanent fresh water resources
natural hazards: occasional, tropical cyclones
international agreements: NA

Note: important nesting area for birds and turtles


Population: no indigenous inhabitants; note - there are 3 meteorologists


conventional long form: Coral Sea Islands Territory
conventional short form: Coral Sea Islands

Digraph: CR

Type: territory of Australia administered by the Ministry for Environment, Sport, and Territories

Capital: none; administered from Canberra, Australia

Independence: none (territory of Australia)

Flag: the flag of Australia is used


Overview: no economic activity


Ports: none; offshore anchorage only

Defense Forces

Note: defense is the responsibility of Australia; visited regularly by the Royal Australian Navy; Australia has control over the activities of visitors